I heart hearts.

You know those days where nothing really specifically seems to go wrong, but nothing really goes right either? I had one yesterday. The day where you rely a little too much on the good old Monsters Inc dvd to entertain a hot, sticky, grumpy child, the project you’re working on just doesn’t quite come out how you planned (chevron plackets and tired eyes DO NOT MIX WELL), and your diet of a mocha-latte and a handful of choc chip biscuits comes back to bite you mid-afternoon in the form of a massive sugar hangover.

Advice from friends after a lengthy facebook vent pointed out that I needed to put down the scissors, stop freaking out and give in to the blues, at least for the rest of the day, but I knew that to be able to sleep soundly I needed at least ONE thing to go satisfactorily. So -ironic as it is – I did what most crafters do when they feel upset, annoyed or otherwise wonky: I made stuff.

So after the wee one went to bed and with nary a thought towards margins, costings, or target markets, I collected up some of my favourite things (felt, polka dots and variegated yarn), and one of my favourite stitches (blanket), made a cuppa, put the cricket on, and just let whatever wanted to come out happen. What eventually happened was a string of felt heart bunting!

As uncharacteristically pink as this is for me, it makes me smile – thus serving its purpose! Will it come with me to market next week, with a few friends?? Possibly. I feel a week of puff-bunting coming on.

3 thoughts on “I heart hearts.

  1. I had one of those days today. Stitched something wrong, clipped the corners before realizing my mistake. Unpicking anyway only to realize that I’d done it right first time. Trying to re-stitch without making a mess of the afore mentioned clipped corners. Then discovering that I was right the first time I realized it was wrong (if that makes sense). Needless to say, it’s staying wrong. Made a paper heart chain instead.

  2. Oooh Jess – I heart your heart bunting! How interesting that that’s what you made when you had the freedom to make anything.
    I like that you let yourself have time off – you are shiny and sparkly, witty and talented – but you need to rest or the edges go all blurry.

Leave a comment